Young Ikeys get opportunity against Tygerberg

Coach Kevin Foote's team went down for the second time this season to their old rivals FNB Maties who secured a 36-21 victory on the Green Mile, so they will be intent on putting things right against Tygerberg this weekend.

Foote has made wholesale changes to his team, with plenty of players shifting positions in both the backline and the forward pack for the WP Super League clash. With neither silverware, nor relegation at stake, the coming fixtures will give the UCT coaching staff opportunity to test some of the younger players who may be in contention for the 2013 Varsity Cup squad. 

Tygerberg are not yet clear off the relegation zone and are fighting for survival with the likes of False Bay and Belhar all very worried at this late stage of the season. They caused a big upset by defeating log leaders and Club Champs bound Durbell a few weeks ago and can't be unerestimated – especially at their fortress Florida Park. 

For UCT, up front Christopher Heiberg shifts from tighthead to loosehead prop and is joined in the front row by Digby Webb and hooker Gareth Topkin who replace Wes Chetty and Dayne Jans.

In the loose trio West Mackintosh and Christopher Roberts get an opportunity on the side of the scrum whilst the backline also shows numerous changes.

Scrumhalf Stephen Wallace will partner regular pivot Ross Jones-Davies and there are a few positional switches outside of him.

Andrew Norton moves from fullback to inside centre where he will link up with Tiger Bax, whilst Paul Cohen takes his place at the back alongside two new wings in David De Kooker and Dylan Sage.

FNB UCT: 15 Paul Cohen, 14 David De Kooker, 13 Tiger Bax, 12 Andrew Norton, 11 Dylan Sage, 10 Ross Jones-Davies, 9 Stephen Wallace, 8 JJ Gagiano, 7 Christopher Roberts, 6 West Mackintosh, 5 Levi Odendaal, 4 Graham Knoop, 3 Digby Webb, 2 Gareth Topkin, 1 Christopher Heiberg.

Replacements: 16 Timothy Louw, 17 Wesley Chetty, 18 James Kilroe, 19 James Tatham, 20 Dylan Frylink, 21 Andre Coetzer, 22 Jason Germishuys.

WP Super League log:

(Under played, won, points)

1. Durb-Bell 17, 16, 76

2. FNB Maties 15, 13, 66

3. Hamiltons 15, 10, 53

4. Victorians 13, 8, 42

5. SK Walmers 14, 8, 40

6. FNB UCT 13, 6, 33

7. Belhar 15, 4, 23

8. False Bay 16, 4, 20

9. Tygerberg 16, 3, 18

10 Villager 16, 1, 12

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply