Unbeaten WP Amateurs take the cup

UCT’s Jody Burch captained the Western Province Amateur team to victory in the 2010 final against the Falcons at Barnard Stadium in Kempton Park last week.

Western Province, the only unbeaten provincial side in the country this year, won 39-26 in a hard-fought clash on Saturday.

Afterwards, an elated Jody told in-site.co.za: “It was a great match… A hard game, but a typical final and we’re over the moon to have come away with the win.”

Jody, who started at No.8 once again, impressed with his power from the back of the WP scrum and led his young team from the front.

These performances augur well for Jody who could play a big role for the Western Province Vodacom Cup side in 2011. The other Ikey on the mix was Grant Kemp, talented fullback Therlow Pietersen and prop Dylan Rogers had played for the WP Amateur team earlier in the competition.

The WP Amateur team: 15 Ian Coetzee, 14 Anthony Volmink, 13 Albert Trytsman, 12 Jacques Rossouw, 11 Vivian Fredericks, 10 Maxwell Stoffels, 9 Andy Coetzee, 8 Jody Burch (captain), 7 Anton Lambrechts, 6 Uzair Cassiem, 5 Jerry Sefoko, 4 Mzwanele Zito, 3 Enver Jonathan, 2 Madoda Yako, 1 Denzil Riddels.
Replacements: 16 Pierre Bouwer, 17 Grant Kemp, 18 Earl Daniels, 19 Brent Stevens, 20 Rikus Smit, 21 Andrew Norman, 22 Danwill Erasmus.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply