UCTRFC awards 2008

The 2008 season has been a remarkable one for many reasons. There were the exceptional Varsity Cup by the Ikey Tigers and some great performances in the league – the unbelievable Intervarsity comeback, the epic UCT vs SK Walmers match on the Green Mile, but also the monumental mud wrestle vs Villagers won’t be forgotten.

An unbeaten second half by the Ish Dramat XV (3rds) and plenty of outstanding individual performances also added some sparks. Here the official list of 2008 award winners:


Most Improved Under 21 Player

Brett Snyders


Most Valuable Under 21 Player

JP Robert 

Jan E. Hellings Trophy Most Improved Rugby Player

Matthew Rosslee

Most Improved Senior Player

Timothy Whitehead


Most Valuable Senior Player

Matthew Turner


Team of the Year

Varsity Cup 1st XV


Personality of the Year

Dylan Rogers


Alan Solomons Trophy – Service to UCT Rugby

Stephen Butt                


Collard Cup – Players’ Player of the Year

Andre Coetzer


Spectators Player(s) of the 2008:
Adjudicated by Harold Kessler

David Edgar, Matthew Turner and Marcello Sampson


UCT 1st XV / Ikey Tigers coaches player of the Year

Bodo Sieber and Jody Burch 

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply