UCT students selected for SA University team

Wes Chetty – UCT Rugby's latest SA University representative
The South African Students team to take on the EP Kings in Port Elizabeth and Namibia in Windhoek has been named, with the selectors relying on a strong mix of Varsity Cup and Shield players – two Ikeys have been selected for the squad. 


The SA Students will play a friendly against the Eastern Province Kings on Tuesday, June 19 before taking on Namibia in an international fixture on Saturday, June 23.

The squad – under the guidance of FNB Maties coach Chean Roux, with Elliott Fana (UFH) and Brent Janse van Rensburg (NMMU) serving as his assistants – will assemble in Port Elizabeth on Saturday, June 16.

Veteran FNB UCT forward Wes Chetty has been rewarded with selection after five years of Varsity Cup rugby – he made the squad alongside Ikeys hooker Neil Rautenbach. 

"I am very excited to have been selected into the squad of 23 and to represend the Ikeys for the SA Students team," he added "We are leaving tomorrow, so there is limited time to prepare and Wednesday's game against the Kings will be a tough one" 

The experienced prop forward will also captain a young UCT team at the upcoming USSA Rugby Tournament in Johannesburg

"I was a little nervous going into the new environment, with new structures and Chean Roux – a coach I have not worked with before. But Chean knowing the limited amount of time available to prepare, has contacted me for a chat and shared his expectations ahead of the squad getting together, which was very reassuring" said the front ranker. 

There are seven Maties players, five UJ players, four NWU-Pukke players (including Engelbrecht), three Shimlas players, two UCT players, one NMMU player and one Wits representative in the SA Students squad.

No players from the Varsity Cup winning FNB UP-Tuks team were considered, due to a match between Tuks and College Rovers (called the Champions' Challenge) to be played on Friday, June 22 at Kings Park in Durban

The SA Students squad:

Forwards (12): Fanie van der Walt (No.8, FNB Shimlas), Justin Wheeler (flanker, FNB UJ), Helmut Lehmann (flanker, FNB Maties), Sam Mbombo (flanker, FNB Maties), Siyanda Ndlovu (lock, FNB NWU-Pukke), Marnus van Huysteen (lock, FNB UJ), Hugo Kloppers (lock, FNB Maties), Stephan 'Os' Hamman (prop, FNB Maties), John Roy Jenkinson (prop, FNB NWU-Pukke), Wesley Chetty (prop, FNB UCT), Neil Rautenbach (hooker, FNB UCT), Francois du Toit (hooker, FNB UJ).

Backs (10/11): André Smith (fullback, FNB Maties), Rian Arends (winger, FNB Wits), Joe Seerane (winger, FNB NWU-Pukke), Mark Hodgskiss (FNB Maties), Joubert Engelbrecht (centre, FNB NWU-Pukke)/Howard Mnisi (centre, FNB NMMU), André Kemp (flyhalf, FNB Maties), Francois du Toit (flyhalf, FNB Shimlas), Pieter Rademan (scrumhalf, FNB Shimlas), Rudy Paige (scrumhalf, FNB UJ), Divan van Zyl (utility back, FNB UJ).

Head coach: Chean Roux (FNB Maties)
Assistant coach: Elliott Fana (FNB UFH)
Assistant coach: Brent Janse van Rensburg (FNB NMMU)
Team manager: Mobi Dick (FNB UJ)
Logistics manager: Jimmy Potgieter (FNB UJ)
Conditioning coach: Warren Adams (FNB Maties)
Team doctor: Pierre Viviers (FNB Maties)
Physiotherapist: Tanya Green (FNB Maties)
USSA Rugby Representative: Bongo Nontshinga (Walter Sisulu University of Technology)



0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply