UCT ring the changes for UJ

FNB Ikey Tigers coach Kevin Foote has made quite a few changes to his team for Monday’s top-of-the-table clash against FNB UJ – especially up front where tighthead prop Shane Meier is the only survivor from Round Five.



With the Ikeys and UJ losing their unbeaten records this past Monday – UCT went down 16-37 to the Maties, and UJ lost to Tuks – both sides will be desperate to return to winning ways with semifinal places up for grabs.

Star centre Marcel Brache (pictured) – who came off the bench this week – has been restored to the starting line-up and he will team up with debutante Ollie Braithwaite in the centres – meaning Therlow Pietersen returns to his favourite position of fullback.

Up front, Foote has re-jigged his loose trio, with Nizaam Carr on SA Under-20 duty, which means a switch to No.8 for captain Nick Fenton-Wells – as Zandy Macdonald and the fit-again Don Armand come in at No.7 and No.6, respectively.

At lock, Levi Odendaal teams up with Pallo Manuel for the first time this season and Dayne Jans (hooker) and Fransie van Wyk (loosehead prop) will make their first starts of UCT’s 2011 campaign. Meier, of course, retains his No.3 shirt.

Hooker Matt Page and prop Wes Chetty revert to the bench after starting five matches in succession, whilst Harrison Edwards, Michael Morris and Mark Winter have been named on the bench for the first time this year.

“It’s a must-win game for both teams,” Foote told varsitycup.co.za this week.

“There’s just two games left and then it’s semifinal time – so nobody can really afford to lose in terms of that home semifinal being up for grabs.

“That said, our only focus at the moment is UJ and we cannot wait to get the chance to put things right after this week,” he added.

The FNB UCT team: 15 Therlow Pietersen, 14 Pete Haw, 13 Marcel Brache, 12 Oliver Braithwaite, 11 Paul Cohen, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nicholas Farrar, 8 Nick Fenton-Wells (captain), 7 Alexander Macdonald, 6 Donovan Armand, 5 Levi Odendaal, 4 Pallo Manuel, 3 Shane Meier, 2 Dayne Jans, 1 Francois van Wyk.
Replacements: 16 Matt Page, 17 Wesley Chetty, 18 Harrison Edwards, 19 Michael Morris, 20 Scott Watermeyer, 21 Mark Winter, 22 Sabelo Siyakatshana, 23 Pete Olivier.
Head coach: Kevin Foote

Date: Monday, March 14
Venue: Groote Schuur, Cape Town
Kick-off: 7pm
Referee: François Groenewald

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *