Trojans with excellent start

The FNB UCT U20 Trojans got their season off to a blistering start by running in seven tries to notch a 44-15 victory over FNB NMMU Young Guns in Cape Town.

Both sides arrived at the Green Mile ready to play some running rugby, which resulted in an entertaining spectacle for the fans gathered for the Varsity Cup curtain-raiser.

The Trojans took control early on, sending the ball wide at every opportunity, and it paid off as they took a commanding 18-0 lead going into the first strategy break.

The visitors managed to get on the scoreboard themselves, but could not stop the Trojans from crossing their tryline five times before the half-time whistle, with the hosts enjoying a 34-10 advantage at the break.

The pace of the game slowed down in the second half, but both teams continued to show attacking intent and once again it was the home side who made best use of their opportunities, outscoring the NMMU Young Guns by two tries to one in the second half.

Both of NMMU's tries came from the tight five, with prop Mzuvukile Sophisa and lock Ervine Slabbert crossing the whitewash, whilst for the Trojans it was the backline that produced the goods, with five of their tries coming out wide.

The scorers:

For FNB UCT Young Guns:
Tries: Bednall, Jacobsen, Rodgers, Stephen, Scott 2, Kennedy
Cons: Bednall 3

For FNB NMMU Young Guns:
Tries: Sophisa, Slabbert
Con: Turner
Pen: Turner


FNB UCT Young Guns: 15 Thomas Bednall, 14 Joshua Jacobson, 13 Brendan Rodgers, 12 Justin Scott, 11 Zukile Ncube, 10 Robert Anderson, 9 Daniel Anderson, 8 Sean Johnstone Darryl Ndjadila, 7 Tinotenda Zakeyo, 6 Rushdie Salie, 5 Jade Kriel, 4 Olwethu Hans, 3 David Maasch, 2 Michael Kennedy, 1 Msizi Zondi.            
Replacements: 16 Tyler Reichardt, 17 Samuel Theron, 18 Kumbirai Makanza, 19 Ross Africa, 20 Bradley Janse van Rensburg, 21 Dean Stephen, 22 Suwilanji Chibale, 23 Martin Chandler. 

FNB NMMU Young Guns: 15 Pelser Hanekom, 14 Khaya Malotana, 13 Siphumelele Msutwana, 12 Jaco Bernardo, 11 Zuko Ndlela, 10 Mitchell Turner, 9 Sonwabo Majola, 8 Marius le Roux, 7 Kevin Kaba, 6 Barend Kitching, 5 Brendan Hector, 4 Ervine Slabbert, 3 Mzuvukile Sophisa, 2 John-Henry Schmitt, 1 Yakha Qinela.    
Replacements: 16 Tyrone Rankin, 17 Similile Qinela, 18 Zaine Marx, 19 Riaan Barkhuizen, 20 Wandile Mbambeni, 21 Ayabulela Dlepu, 22 Gregory Lutge, 23 Ruaan de Jager.   

297 replies

Comments are closed.