UCT Ikey Tigers

Stalemate in Jozi

Current News

After both U20 sides had played to a 32 all draw earlier in the day, FNB Wits fought back superbly in the second half of the 1st XV game to burgle a 33-33 draw against visitors, the FNB UCT Ikeys, at the Wits Stadium on Monday evening.

It took a last-minute try and conversion for hosts to avoid defeat in a game in which they enjoyed the better of in the territory and possession battle.

Ikeys were quickest out of the blocks via a Ntokozo Makhaza penalty inside the first two minutes. The in-form winger was back in the thick of things with a dazzling run that eventually saw him offloading to scrumhalf Riaan Genis, who neatly finished under the poles. Makhaza stepped up to convert, taking the visitors out to an early 12-0 lead.

Wits eventually got on the scoreboard in the 20th minute, after camping in the UCT 22. Scrumhalf Wernich Aucamp managed to pick up and score from close range, with Tireque Apolles converting, taking the score to 7-12. The on-form visitors ran in a further two tries in the first half, while the hosts could only manage a penalty. 28-10 to the Ikeys as the boys hit the sheds

The second half saw Wits showing a lot more grit and determination, but the Ikeys still got over for a close quarters try through loosehead prop Mhleli Khuzwayo. Wits got in for two tries of their own, courtesy of Setshaba Mokoena and George Devenish, before replacement prop Ronan Dutton’s last second effort and Apolles’ conversion gave them a share of the spoils.


FNB Wits 33 (10) – Tries: Wernich Aucamp, Setshaba Mokoena, George Devenish, Ronan Dutton. Conversions: Tireque Apolles (4). Penalties: Tireque Apolles.

FNB UCT 33 (28) – Tries: Riaan Genis (2), Duran Koevort, Mhleli Khuzwayo, Conversions: Ntokoza Makhaza (2). Penalty: Ntokozo Makhaza.

FNB Player That Rocks: Jonathan Roche

Wits: Jason Cloete, Dewet Lottering, Sibusiso Shongwe, Armin Durandt Weideman, George Lawson St Leger Devenish, Kelvin Kanenungo, Thandolwethu Biyela, Lindokuhle Ncusane, Wernich Aucamp, Tireque Apolles, Lindani Dweba, Caleb Lombard, Liyema Matyolweni, Dustyn Matthew Holmes, Setshaba Mohlakoane Mokoena.

Ikeys: Mhleli Khuzwayo, Keagan Blanckenberg, John Kelly Okonkwo, Enos Ndiao, Johan van Rhyn, Sipho Dyonase, Laro Delport, Reynhardt Crous, Riaan Genis, Alexander Vermeulen, Ntokozo Makhaza, Jonathan Roche, Joshua Boulle, Lezane George Davis, Duran Koevort.

Comments are closed.