SA Students go down to Kings

Former Ikeys wing Marcello Sampson touched down twice for the Kings

The EP Kings beat a game SA Students team including Wes Chetty and Neil Rautenbach by 36:19 on Tuesday. 


The EP Kings who are gearing up for the Currie Cup proved too powerful for the recently assembled students and scored five tries to three – two of which came from former Ikeys speedster Marcello Sampson. 


UJ's Justin Wheeler captained the students from No.8, with another three players from Johannesburg in the starting XV – as well as FNB Wits' Riaan Arends on the right-wing – and another UJ player on the bench.

The Maties, three times winners of the Varsity Cup under coach Roux, had five players in the starting line-up, with two others on the bench, whilst UCT, the 2011 Varsity Cup winners, had veteran prop Wes Chetty with hooker Neil Rautenbach coming off the bench. 

The SA students will now play Namibia in PE on Saturday. 

EP Kings:

Tries: Marcello Sampson 2, Jongi Nokwe, George Whitehead, Cornel du Preez
Cons: Whitehead 3, Wesley Dunlop
Pen: Dunlop

SA Students:
Tries: Joe Seerane, Francois du Toit (haker), Strafdrie
Cons: André Kemp, Francois du Toit (losskakel)


EP Kings: 15 SP Marais, 14 Marcello Sampson, 13 Scott van Breda, 12 Tiger Mangweni, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Falie Oelschig, 8 Jacques Engelbrecht, 7 Cornel du Preez, 6 Devin Oosthuizen, 5 David Bulbring, 4 Darron Nell (captain), 3 Clint Newland, 2 Hannes Franklin, 1 Schalk Ferreira.
Replacements: 16 Frank Herne, 17 André Schlechter, 18 Wayne van Heerden, 19 Conraad Britz, 20 Boela Abrahams, 21 Wesley Dunlop, 22 Lonwabo Ndleki.

SA Students: 15 André Smith (Maties), 14 Riaan Arends (Wits), 13 Mark Hodgskiss (Maties), 12 Divan van Zyl (UJ), 11 Joe Seerane (NWU-Pukke), 10 André Kemp (Maties), 9 Pieter Rademan (Shimlas), 8 Justin Wheeler (UJ – captain), 7 Fanie van der Walt (Shimlas), 6 Sam Mabombo (Maties), 5 Marnus van Huyssteen (UJ), 4 Hugo Kloppers (Maties), 3 John-Roy Jenkinson (NWU-Pukke), 2 Francois du Toit (UJ), 1 Wesley Chetty (UCT).
Replacements: 16 Neil Rautenbach (UCT), 17 Os Hamman (Maties), 18 Siyandla Ndlovu (NWU-Pukke), 19 Helmut Lehmann (Maties), 20 Rudy Paige (UJ), 21 Francois du Toit (Shimlas), 22 Howard Mnisi (NMMU).

17 replies

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply