Passaportis and Rogers to start for Griquas

Provincial side Griquas have included a host of Varsity Cup stars in their team for a pre-season friendly against the SWD Eagles in Oudtshoorn on Wednesday.

Former Maties aces Kobie Adriaanse, Morné Hanekom, Donald Stevens and Coenie van Wyk will all line up for the Peacock Blues at some stage, whilst UCT have two players in the starting XV – prop Dylan Rogers and lock Michael Passaportis.

Scrumhalf Stevens  was named as last year’s Varsity Cup Player of the Tournament and is set to make an impact on the 2010 Vodacom Cup; along with the rest of his former Varsity Cup-winning Maties teammates and ex-UCT opponents.

The Griquas team: 15 Herman Pretorius, 14 Zahier Ryland, 13 Divan van Zyl, 12 Wilmore Louw, 11 Dusty van Rensburg, 10 Coenie van Wyk, 9 Donald Stevens, 8 Morné Hanekom, 7 Devon Raubenheimer, 6 Ruan Kitshoff, 5 Michael Passaportis, 4 Cecil Kemp, 3 Dylan Rogers, 2 Simon Westraadt, 1 Stef Robberts.
Replacements – from: Will Hanekom, Kobie Adriaanse, Frikkie Spies, Ben Venter, Pieter Sterrenberg, Burger Schoeman, Warren Malgas, Danville Erasmus, Logan Basson.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply