NWU muscle their way into semis

On weirdly wind-free Green Mile at UCT, the NWU Eagles from Potch (formerly known as the Pukke) muscled their way to a 42-26 victory over the Ikeys to secure a well-deserved home semi-final.

A slow start to the match saw both teams feeling each other out, and it was only in the 28th minute that the visitors broke the deadlock, through a try by scrumhalf Sylvester Hassien.

The home side took control of the second half via tries from Kyle Lamb (another brutal break of the line) and Duran Koevort (who finished a wonderful sweeping move) and went into the sheds with a 14-10 lead.

In the second half, the Eagles upped the physical ante considerably, evidence of that being the three maul tries and scrum penalties accumulated. They notched up two quick tries through Vernon Paulo and Naiden Jaarts, and later in the half crossed two more times for a comfortable lead.

Benefitting from wonderful breaks by hard-working lock, Reynardt Crous, Tom Nel and Jac van der Walt got over the line for Ikeys, but it was a case of too little, too late.

On 16 log points, UCT now finds themselves sixth on the log, but with only 4 points separating positions 2 to 6 on the log, the Ikeys still have a realistic chance of making the semi-finals. It might depend on other results, and it can only happen, of course, if they notch up a win against CUT next Monday. Ideally, a bonus point win. It’s an away game, but it is being broadcast on SuperSport. Kickoff is at 17h00.

Ikeys – 26 (14) – Tries: Kyle Lamb, Duran Koevort, Tom Nel, Jac van der Walt. Conversion: Ntokozo Makhaza

NWU – 42 (10) – Tries: Sylvester Hassien, Vernon Paulo (2), Naiden Jaarts, Ruben du Plessis. Conversions: Zinedine Robinson (4). Penalties: Robinson (3)

FNB Player That Rocks: Chris Vermaak (NWU)

Ikeys: 15 Duran Koevort, 14 Rethabile Louw, 13 Kyle Lamb, 12 Lyle Hendricks, 10 David Hayes, 9 Asad Moos, 11 Ntokozo Makhaza, 8 Jason MacLeod Smith, 7 Enos Ndiao, 6 Sipho Dyonase, 5 Johan van Rhyn, 4 Reynhardt Crous, 3 Bryan le Roux, 2 Keagan Blanckenberg, 1 Luthando Woji.

Bench: Alex Castle, Chris Pittaway, Keagan Glade, Jac van der Walt, George van der Westhuizen, Laro Delport, Tom Nel, Rihaz Fredericks

NWU: 15 Swanepoel Tino Santino , 14 Windvogel Keano Ricardo, 13 Pretorius Theunis Gerhardus, 12 Phatudi Isromr Seita, 11 Jaarts Naiden, 10 Robinson Zinedine, 9 Hassien Sylvester, 8 Erlank Gustav Zacharias, 7 Bertram Karl-Heinz Henlein, 6 Vermaak Chris, 5 Nel Wihan, 4 White Junior, 3 Swiegers Ruan, 2 Paulo Vernon, 1 du Plessis Ruben.