Momtum key as Ikeys head to Brookside

With the FNB Ikey Tigers chasing league silverware in Cape Town, their head coach Kevin Foote is hopeful that his charges can retain their momentum ahead of tomorrow’s WP Super League clash at Villager’s.



Foote’s charges will no doubt be on a high after their dramatic 22-15 come-from-behind win over the mighty Stellenbosch last weekend.

However, the Ikeys boss – who guided his team to Varsity Cup glory earlier this year – has eyes for Villager’s only at Brookside tomorrow.

“Last week was a brilliant win and a fantastic effort against the Maties,” Foote told

“However, we need to keep that momentum – especially from those last fifteen minutes. It’s no good we (now) go out there and lose to Villager’s. The league is very much alive for us, so we need to keep winning in order to keep the pressure on Stellenbosch.”

With poor weather predicted for Saturday – coming after Friday’s big rain in Cape Town – Foote is targeting a win (and four points), with anything extra a bonus; “That’s why the call it a bonus point,” he laughed, “if you get it, it’s a bonus!

“The key thing is to retain our focus and secure the win,” he stressed. “This is an historically tough derby and we won’t be expecting anything less than a big tussle in tough conditions.

“The WP Super League is a tough competition and that’s why we’re taking every week on its merits.”

Team-wise, Foote has made just one change to the starting line-up which defeated the Maties.

Regular first-choice tighthead prop Shane Meier will make his first start for UCT since the league stage of the Varsity Cup, having been out with an ankle injury for some time.

Meier replaces Pete Olivier in the No.3 shirt, with the latter dropping to the bench where he will be joined by Adriaan Botha, who replaces new WP Under-21 ‘cap’ Francois van Wyk.

“Frans deserves his chance in the WP set-up and we wish him the best of luck,” said Foote.

The FBN UCT team: 15 Therlow Pietersen, 14 Richard Stewart, 13 Tiger Bax, 12 André Coetzer, 11 Ricky Rijs, 10 Nick Holton, 9 Nick Farrar, 8 Greg Mallett, 7 Nick Fenton-Wells (captain), 6 Don Armand, 5 Brad Bosman, 4 Pallo Manuel, 3 Shane Meier, 2 Neil Rautenbach, 1 Wes Chetty.
Replacements: 16 Tim Louw, 17 Pete Olivier, 18 Adriaan Botha, 19 James Kilroe, 20 Zandy Macdonald, 21 Steve Wallace, 22 Mark Winter.

Kick-off: 4pm

The WP Super League log:
(As at Sunday, August 7 – played, won, points)
1. Hamilton’s 13, 9, 47
2. Maties 12, 9, 44
3. SK Walmers 15, 9, 44
4. UCT 11, 8, 38
5. Durb-Bell 12, 7, 38
6. Vics 11, 5, 30
7. False Bay 11, 6, 30
8. Villager’s 12, 5, 22
9. Belhar 12, 2, 12
10. Helderberg 13, 0, 5

18 replies

Comments are closed.