Late changes to Ikeys team

Adrian Kritzinger is back from injury and will line up at inside centre for FNB UCT in their must-win Varsity Cup, Round Five clash against FNB NWU-Pukke in Cape Town on Monday.


Kritzinger replaces Zimbabwean Sevens player Michael Morris in the No.12 jersey, in the only change to the UCT backline that started Monday’s disappointing 21-23 loss to the FNB Madibaz.

Up front, head coach Kevin Foote has been forced into a few late changes, with Greg Mallett taking over from Rayn Smid at No.8 and Graham Knoop returning from injury to take over from Western Province Vodacom Cup squad member Don Armand at lock.

On the bench, meanwhile, hooker Matt Page, prop Mini Bhengu, lock/flank James Kilroe and scrumhalf Nick Farrar all return after not featuring in Rounds Three and Four.

Flanker Ntsolo Setlaba will captain the Ikeys in only their second home match of the season – a game they cannot afford to lose as they look to keep alive their (very) slim semifinal chances.

Simply put: one more defeat will mean the defending champions are out of the race to make the Last Four, with matches against NWU-Pukke (this Monday), FNB Maties (away) and FNB UP-Tuks (home) still to come.

The FNB UCT team: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Damian de Allende, 13 Tiger Bax, 12 Michael Morris, 11 Mark Winter, 10 Nick Holton, 9 Liam Slatem, 8 Rayn Smid, 7 Zandy Macdonald, 6 Ntsolo Setlaba (captain), 5 Levi Odendaal, 4 Don Armand, 3 Francois van Wyk, 2 Dayne Jans, 1 Wes Chetty.
Replacements: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Adriaan Botha, 18 Brad Bosman, 19 Greg Mallett, 20 Ricky Schroeder, 21 Paul Cohen, 22 Nathan Nel, 23 Digby Webb.