Intervarsity – Maties vs Ikeys at Newlands – teams announced

Maties vs Ikeys – the archrivals go head to head again this Saturday

FNB Maties and FNB UCT have both announced powerful starting line-ups for Saturday afternoon’s mouth-watering Intervarsity clash at Newlands.

Maties have a large contingent of WP Vodacom players available that haven’t been named in the team that was announced earlier this week,  there may be some late changes to both sides.

UCT coach John Dobson also announced a host of Varsity Cup players in his starting XV, along with a sprinkling of more experienced stars who have joined the team since the League started.

Dave Edgar and Tim Whitehead – both of whom did not feature in the Varsity Cup – continue at centre, whilst up front German international Bodo Sieber is back captaining the side from the second row and strong-running No.8 Jody Burch will again start at the back of the scrum, with Varsity Cup skipper JJ Gagiano in the No.6 jersey.

Edgar, Sieber and Burch were all too old for the 2009 Varsity Cup, whilst Whitehead missed the tournament because of a serious groin injury.

Robbie Fleck, UCT’s assistant coach, said “Maties-Ikeys Intervarsity games are always fantastic occasions and it’s great for the players to be playing at Newlands (this year).

“Stellenbosch are almost at full-strength, we’re pretty close to our strongest side – except with Martin Muller and Tiger Bax on Stormers duty – and there is plenty to play for in terms of qualifying for the Club champs in September,” he added.

“Maties are first on the log and we’re in third place, so the winner of this game could just take a step closer to qualifying for the National Club Championships.”

Kick-off is at 4pm.

Tickets for Saturday – for the Intervarsity and Super 14 game – are on sale and can be bought from the Newlands Rugby Stadium Box office and through Computicket, Shoprite Checkers and Checkers Hyperstores countrywide. (The match will also be televised, albeit delayed, on SuperSport.)

The teams are as follows:

FNB UCT RFC – Ikey Tigers

15.  Therlow Pietersen, 14. Peter Engelbrecht 13. David Edgar 12. Tim Whitehead 11. Marcello Sampson 10. Matthew Rosslee 9.  Jean-Paul Robert 8. Jody Burch 7.         Nicholas Fenton-Wells 6. Jonathan Gagiano 5. Bodo Sieber (captain) , 4. Michael Passaportis, 3. Herbert Mayosi, 2. Dayne Jans, 1.Dylan Rodgers
16. Mark Goosen, 17. Vakai Hove, 18. Dane Galley, 19. Craig Kleu, 20. Kyle Wickens, 21. Enoch Panya, 22. Sean Van Tonder

FNB Maties
15. Jonathan Francke, 14. Morne Jooste, 13.  Hayden Groepes, 12. Jean Stemmet,11.  JJ Engelbrecht, 10. Adnaan Osman, 9. Henoe Stoffberg, 8. Bennie Booysen, 7. Jonathan Adendorf, 6. Wesley Wilkins, 5. Jaco Nepgen, 4. Bertho vd Westhuizen (captain), 3. Lourens Adriaanse, 2. Matthew Dobson, 1. Johan Roets
16.  Arno White, 17. Gerrit Jacobs, 18.Hugo Kloppers, 19. Morne Hanekom, 20. Donald Stevens, 21. Pieter Stoffberg, 22. Louw Schabort