Ikeys with changes for Belhar


FNB Ikeys coach Kevin Foote has made a number of changes to his side for their WP Super League clash with Belhar this weekend.

Belhar have established themselves nicely in the Super League A with this being their second season and have managed to win five matches and are effectively clear off the relegation zone. They are a strong outfit at home and will take their chances, a tough assigment in what is the third match for UCT this week. 


There are seven changes in total from the side that went down narrowly to Tygerberg last week, with Foote making a few tactical changes, whilst some players are unavailable due to provincial duty.

In the midfield Tiger Bax moves to inside centre to replace Andrew Norton, and Nicholas Loizedes gets an opportunity at outside centre.

On the wing Jason Germishuys steps in for Dylan Sage who is playing for the Western Province Under-21 side.

In the pack James Tatham replaces No.8 JJ Gagiano who is in the Western Province match-day squad to play the Griquas, and will make his Currie Cup debut if he comes off the bench at Newlands.

Flanks Chris Roberts and West Mackintosh will start on the bench, and their places in the starting line-up have been taken by Michael Botha and Jourdan Esterhuizen.

In the tight five lock Johannes de Klerk comes in for Levi Odendaal and hooker Timothy Louw replaces Gareth Topkin who starts on the bench.

FNB UCT: 15 Paul Cohen, 14 David De Kooker, 13 Nicholas Loizedes, 12 Liam Bax, 11 Jason Germishuys, 10 Ross Jones-Davies, 9 Stephen Wallace, 8 James Tatham, 7 Michael Botha, 6 Jourdan Esterhuizen, 5 Graham Knoop, 4 Johannes de Klerk, 3 Digby Webb, 2 Timothy Louw, 1 Christopher Heiberg.
Replacements: 16 Dayne Jans, 17 Wesley Chetty, 18 West Mackintosh, 19 Christopher Roberts, 20 Dylan Frylink, 21 Darryn Berry, 22 AN Other.