Ikeys victorious in pre season Champions Clash

The FNB Ikeys Tigers squad currently on camp in Johannesburg have come away 33:7 winners against Impala Platinum, the 2014 Community Cup Champions.

Reigning Cell C Community Cup Champions Impala Plats of course are again the highest non varsity team in the Pirates League and much like the Ikeys Tigers are out to defend their title in the top SA Club Rugby competition also starting February.

The coaching team around Kevin Musikanth played an extended Ikeys squad and rotated players to test combinations. Great to see a fairly settled team so early on, as many of the 2014 Varsity Cup winning squad have returned to defend the cup.

The game started with the Ikeys applying early pressure rumbling over a line out maul to open the score about 25 minutes and shortly afterwards adding another try through winger Lilehli Xholi to go up 14:0. The half time score was 21:0 and Impala rallied to come back with an intercept to close the gap, but in the end the Ikeys had too much fire power and pulled away 33:7 winners.

Thanks to Impala Plats for being fantastic hosts and playing in the true spirit of a Champions Clash – we wish them well for their title defense.

The Ikeys continue their pre-season and will kick off the Varsity Cup with a mighty clash on Monday Feb 9th against Maties on the Green Mile at 7pm (TV).

FNB Ikey Tigers Team vs Impala Plats:
15 Khanyo Ngukana 14 Richard Stewart 13 Dylan Sage 12 Guy Schwikard 11 Lihleli Xholi 10 Warren Seals 9 Ryan Dugmore 8 Guy Alexander 7 Michael Botha 6 Jason Klaasens 5 James Kilroe 4 Mark Prior 3 Digby Webb 2 Chad Solomons 1 Joel Carew

Reserves: 16. Mike Kennedy/Msizi Zonde 17. Robin Murray/Matthew jones 18. Jade Kriel/Duncan Saffy 19. Tino Tenda/Luke Stringer/Alva Senderayi 20. James Alexander/Dylan Tidbury 21. Nic Holton/Joel Smith 22. Nathan Nel/Tom Bednal / Dean Gerricke 23. David Maasch/Kyle Whyte

17 replies

Comments are closed.