Ikeys U21 2000 Vintage Meet In Dublin

The Ikeys U21 2000 vintage reunited earlier this month in Dublin to watch the Boks take on Ireland in the Aviva Stadium.

Photo (left to right) – Craig Gordon Bennett (UCT U21 2000), Dan Palm (UCT U21 2000), Ryan Laubscher, Reg Calmeyer (UCT u19 1999), Nic Musgrave (former Matie prop ), Douglas Bryant (UCT U21 2000), Stephen Knoop (UCT U21 2000)

The U21 Ikeys team of the 2000 season was a formidable force, boasting Ikey legends by the likes of Vakai ‘Fish’ Hove (WP), Bodo “the Door” Sieber (WP), Johnny Bradshaw (WP) Stephen Knoop (Connacht / Leinster), Mwali “Soulman” Soul, USA 7’s star Dallen Stanford (captain), and even Springbok legend Brent Russell.

The team had an impressive season, going unbeaten as winners of the Western Province League, as well as claiming the Butterworth Cup (as UCT Sports Team of the Year). Perhaps the highlight, however, was their memorable win over Maties that year, which saw them bring home the fiercely contested Hedley Atkins trophy.

The team was coached by Brendan Fogherty (now Bishops Prep DoR) and Jeremy de Kock.