Ikeys Topple League Leaders

Keeping in line with their upwards trajectory, the FNB Ikey Tigers beat the top of the table side FNB Shimlas 22 – 7 in their own backyard, becoming the first team to do so since the 2013 season of the FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International.

“It’s a massive result to beat them [FNB Shimlas] at home. We’re the first team to do so since 2013, so it’s good to be the team that achieved that,” said coach Christiaan Esterhuizen.

The FNB Ikey Tigers went into the break leading 7-0 thanks to a seven-point try by Lategaan, with Hablutzel adding to the score before a brilliant piece of play from Mapoe saw the FNB Ikey Tigers score their second seven-point try of the game. It was a wet night at the Xerox Shimla Park, and although this contributed to missed kicks and handling errors from both sides, the FNB Ikey Tigers were able to adapt to the conditions better than the home side.

“I’m stoked for the boys- they stuck to their guns and produced a mature eighty-minute performance,” added Esterhuizen.

This marks the second win of the 2017 FNB Varsity Cup season for the boys in stripes, and shows a consistent improvement in the team’s play. Belief is once again coursing through the team, and it has come at just the right time. “Our defence has been consistently good, but we’re getting better and better with the ball in hand. The biggest change this season is our belief, because we really do believe that we can go out and get the results,” said Esterhuizen.

The FNB Ikey Tigers team that took the field:

1 Wayrin Losper, 2 Cuan Hablutzel, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 4 Nama Xaba, 5 Duncan Saffy, 6 Jason Klaasen (C), 7 Luke Stringer, 8 Nyasha Tarusenga, 9 Stefano de Gouveia, 10 Jez Mcintyre, 11 Joel Smith, 12 Rico Lategan, 13 Tristan Mouton, 14 Rayno Mapoe, 15 Lohan Lubbe.


16 Martin Chandler, 17 William Day, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazebuko, 19 Sanele Malwane, 20 Alva Senderayi 21 Matthew Redman, 22 Rob Anderson, 23 Hilio De Abreu.

Scorers: Hendrik Lategaann (seven-point try), Cuan Hablutzel, Rayno Mapoe (seven-point try).

Penalties: Lohan Lubbe.