Ikeys to star in WP semi final


Former UCT coach John Dobson has named a strong side including several Ikeys to take on the Pumas in a Vodacom Cup semi final at Newlands Saturday 16.45. 

The WP team is unbeaten this season and captained by VC 2011 champions skipper Nick Fenton Wells with Vice Captain Nic Groom and has a distinct UCT flavour which bodes well for the team that is looking to win a first ever Vodacom Cup title. 

DHL WP last week beat the MTN Golden Lions in a home quarterfinal (58-34), at City Park in Cape Town, to progress to the semifinal. DHL WP were the top side in the South Section of the competition and are the only unbeaten team. In the other Vodacom Cup semifinal the Vodacom Blue Bulls will travel to Kimberley to take on GWK Griquas.

There are a total of eight Ikeys in the mix this Saturday, with seven of them having player Varsity Cup or club rugby for UCT in 2011 or 2012. 

John Dobson announced his team to play as follows: 

15. Kurt Coleman 
14. Danie Poolman
13. JP du Plessis 
12. Berton Klaasen 
11. Ederies Arendse 
10. Demetri Catrakilis 
9. Nic Groom (VC)

8. Nick Fenton-Wells (C)
7. Don Armand
6. Rohan Kitshoff 
5. Quinn Roux 
4. Hilton Lobberts 

3. Tom Botha 
2. Sidney Tobias
1. Schalk Ferreira


16. Rob Herring

17. Deon Carstens 

18. Wilhelm van der Sluys 

19. Tyrone Holmes

20. Rick Schroeder 

21. Marcel Brache 

22. Michael van der Spuy