Ikeys the backbone of historic WP success

Western Province claimed their first Vodacom Cup title when they snatched a 20-18 victory (half-time 10-13) over Griquas in the final in Kimberley on Friday.

Former Ikeys coach John Dobson has stuck with a core group of players he accompanied climbing the ranks at UCT – including skipper Nick Fenton Wells, vice captain Nic Groom, kicking ace Demitri Catrakilis, Marce Brache, Hilton Lobberts, Ricky Schreuder, Don Armand – who got called up to the Stormers and missed the Final and more recently Damian de Allende and has created a formidable squad. 

The WP team was unbeaten this season, in fact John Dobson has only lost one match since he started taking over the reigns in 2010 – this cup win being the only senior success for the WP hoops in a decade.

Congratulations from all the Ikeys! 

Vodacom Final team WESTERN PROVINCE vs Griquas:
15 Kurt Coleman, 14 Danie Poolman, 13 JP du Plessis, 12 Marcel Brache, 11 Ederies Arendse, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom (vice-captain); 8 Nick Fenton-Wells (captain), 7 Tyrone Holmes, 6 Rohan Kitshoff, 5 Quinn Roux, 4 Hilton Lobberts, 3Tom Botha, 2 Sidney Tobias, 1 Schalk Ferreira.

Replacements (from): 16 Rob Herring, 17 Deon Carstens, 18 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 19 Reuben Johannes, 20 Rick Schroeder, 21 Mike van der Spuy, 22 Berton Klaasen, 23 Damian de Allende, 24 Gerbrandt Grobler.



10 March: beat Regent Boland Kavaliers 51-22 in Cape Town

17 March: beat the Sharks XV 17-15 in Durban

24 March: beat EP Kings 30-25 in Cape Town

31 March: beat Border Bulldogs 31-7 in East London

14 April: beat Pampas XV 20-16 in Stellenbosch

21 April: beat SWD Eagles 29-14 in Oudtshoorn

28 April: beat Toyota Free State XV 42-31 in Durbanville

5 May: beat MTN Golden Lions 58-34 in Cape Town (quarterfinal)

12 May: beat Ford Pumas 33-20 in Cape Town (semifinal) 


18 replies

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply