Ikeys stumble in Jozi

At 24 all with 20 minutes left on the clock, the momentum was with the men in blue and white. It seemed a matter of just finishing the job, but things did not go according to plan, and it was the home side, FNB UJ, who notched up their first victory of this year’s tournament.

Played in front of a large, enthusiastic home crowd in Johannesburg, UJ eventually cantered to a 43-24 victory in the loadshedding-induced darkness.

The match got off to a cracking start with Prince Nkabinde scoring the home team’s first try.  UJ continued to dominate via a Tengimgene Likhayaalso try.

The Ikey Tigers got one back through an Alex Castle try from a driving maul, but it was UJ who had the upper hand, going into the sheds with a 14-10 lead.

Despite having changed into their black strip, the Orange Army continued their impressive play in the second half, at one point building up a ten-point cushion. The Ikeys were not done, though, and fought back with back-to-back tries by flank Enos Ndiao and replacement hooker Keagan Blanckenberg to level the scores at 24-24.

With 20 minutes to go, the Ikey lineout went MIA, and they coughed up the ball at crucial moments. UJ used the opportunity to take it up a notch, with Francois Pretorius and Mpho Kubheka getting over the tryline. Impressive flyhalf Jonathan Viljoen added insult to injury with another penalty, securing a comprehensive victory.

UJ 43 (14) – Tries: Prince Nkabinde, Tengimgene Likhaya, Buhle Qaba, Francois Pretorius, Mpho Kubheka. Conversions: Joshua Viljoen (5). Penalties: Viljoen (2).

IKEYS 24 (10) – Tries: Alex Castle, Keagan Blanckenberg, Enos Ndiao. Conversions: Notokozo Makhaza (3). Penalties: Makhaza (1).

FNB Player That Rocks: Kelvin Kanenungo

FNB UCT Ikeys: 15 Duran Koevort, 14 Rethabile Louw, 13 Joshua Boulle, 12 Lyle Hendricks, 10 Justin Cross, 9 Asad Moos, 11 Ntokozo Makhaza, 8 Jason MacLeod Smith, 7 Enos Ndiao, 6 Jac van der Walt, 5 Johan van Rhyn, 4 Reynhardt Crous, 3 Keagan Glade, 2 Alex Castle, 1 Luthando Woji.

FNB UJ: 15 Malgas Rowan, 14 Nkabinde Prince, 13 Radebe Nkondlokamthimkhulu, 12 Tyeda Indiphile, 11 Tengimgene Likhaya, 10 Viljoen Jonathan, 9 Kubheka Mpho, 7 Ncusane  Ngwekazi Khanya, 8 Qaba Buhlebenkosi, 6 Kanenungo Kelvin, 5 Pretorius Francois, 4 Bali Sinovuyo Sibabalwe, 3 Pohlmann Eugene, 2 Osuagwu Darnell, 1 Kiewit Kayden.