UCT stars headline WP U21 team

A host of UCT Varsity Cup stars have been named in the Western Province Under-21 team for Saturday’s clash against Boland in Wellington.

FNB Maties No.8 Morné Hanekom  will again lead the WP U21 team – a unit that includes four Stellenbosch Varsity Cup players and a massive six from Western Cape rivals, UCT.

Hanekom, centre Johann Sadie, lock Hugo Kloppers and prop Lourens Adriaanse were all part of the 2009 Varsity Cup-winning Maties squad. Meanwhile, fullback Tiger Bax, winger Dane Johnson, centre Tim Whitehead, lock Martin Muller, hooker Dayne Jans and scrumhalf Stu Commins all played for UCT in the 2009 competition.

Bax and Muller also both played Super 14 rugby for the Stormers this season, whilst the selfsame Muller, Adriaanse and Whitehead were all part of the SA Universities team that played two matches against the Collegiate All-Americans.

The WP U21s are currently third on the log with 12 points, and will be looking for the maximum five points from this fixture against their neighbours. Saturday’s match gets underway at 1pm, with the Boland-WP Currie Cup fixture taking place at 3pm. (Click here for the WP team!)

The WP Under-21 team:

15 Tiger Bax
14 Dane Johnson
13 Tim Whitehead

12 Johann Sadie
11 Chris Juries
10 Jurgen Visser
9 Liam Slatem
8 Morné Hanekom (captain)
7 Rynardt Elstadt
6 Wimpie van der Walt
5 Martin Muller
4 Hugo Kloppers
3 Lourens Adriaanse
2 Sydney Tobias
1 Denzil Riddles

16 Dayne Jans
17 Hein van der Merwe
18 Stephan Greeff
19 Burger Schoeman
20 Stu Commins
21 Andre Kemp
22 Danre Gerber

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply