Ikey Tigers smash plucky SK Walmers

UCT put five tries past SK Walmers on the Green Mile today, beating the visitors 42:12. There were some great phases of play from the Ikeys but also some dangerous counter attacks from SK who had famously defeated Victorians – the only side to beat UCT to date.

Wingers Marvin Christians and Marcello Sampson both touched down, as did powerhouse inside centre Pieter Engelbrecht, with forwards Luzuko Panya and Dayne Jans completing the rout.

“We lost to SK Walmers last year (12:10) and they gave Vics an impressive hiding recently, so we knew this would be a tricky fixture,”  UCT head coach John Dobson said afterwards.

“You’re never safe against SK, who are superb counter-attackers, but the guys showed great character to keep them at bay and eventually close out the game and get the four-try bonus point.”

UCT did well to stick to their structures and take teh ball through the phases against the speedy visitors. The Ikey’s lineout was once again dominant, while the scrum had to be reset too often, with SK looking to  make up for inferior weight and power by hitting too early.

The Ikeys man of the match was hard running Jody Burch who was in rampant mood.

Flyhalf Matt Rosslee, who had a strong game once again, kept the scoreboard ticking over by contributing 17 points with his right boot.

Of course, UCT’s next game is against Super League log leaders Hamilton’s who secured a last-gasp win over Maties – 25:24 in Stellenbosch – on Saturday.

‘Hammies’ are four points ahead of the second-placed Victorians (the only side to beat UCT in league action this year), followed by the Maties in third place and the Ikeys in fourth place. The Ikeys do, however, have a game in hand over Maties and two matches in hand over Vics.

UCT scorers:
Marvin Christians, Kuzuko Panya, Pieter Engelbrecht, Dayne Jans, Marcelo Sampson
Matt Rosslee

UCT Ikey Tigers team: 15 Therlow Pietersen, 14 Marvin Christians, 13 Dave Edgar, 12 Pieter Engelbrecht, 11 Marcello Sampson, 10 Matt Rosslee, 9 JP Robert, 8 Jody Burch, 7 Nick Fenton-Wells, 6 Enoch Panya, 5 Don Armand, 4 Bodo Sieber (captain), 3 Herbie Mayosi, 2 Mark Goosen, 1 Vakai Hove.
Replacements (from): Dayne Jans, Ashley Wells, Michael Passaportis, Dane Galley, Craig Kleu, Ian Armstrong, Ollie Braithwaite, Pete Haw.

WP Super League log (as at May 25):
(Under played, won, points)
1. Hamilton’s 7, 7, 31
2. Victorians 8, 5, 27
3. Stellenbosch 7, 5, 26
4. UCT 6, 4, 22
5. ‘Durbell’ 6, 4, 19
6. SK Walmers 7, 2, 13
7. NNK 6, 2, 11
8. Villager 7, 2, 10
9. Helderberg 6, 1, 5
10. Kraaifontein 6, 0, 1