Ikeys on fire, Makhaza sets record

The Chester Williams Memorial Trophy will remain on the Green Mile for another year after a dominant display saw the Ikeys beat UWC 91-9 at their Sports Stadium.

In the process, points scoring machine, wing Ntokozo Makhaza became the highest scoring Ikey player in the FNB Varsity Cup, surpassing Matthew Rosslee’s previous record. Makhaza has now scored 223 points in the tournament.

In perfect conditions in Bellville, the blue and white hoops brought the heat, running in 13 tries to 1, thoroughly outplayed Udubs in their backyard.

Ntokozo Makhaza kept the scoreboard ticking over with his accuracy off the tee, and made telling runs that got the visitors over the advantage line at regular intervals.

The Ikey set piece was also purring on the night, setting up attacking forays from every part of the ground, and putting pay to anything UWC tried to get going.

As such, the home side enjoyed very little ball, and made errors when they did try carry.

By half-time, UCT were already 0-33 up, with the game over as a contest.

Things got worse for the home side in the second half. Powerful wing, Luke Burger, named Player That Rocks, first completed his hat-trick, then added a fourth.

UCT will enjoy their Easter break before heading to Potch to play for a home semi-final against the log leaders, Pukke. UWC, sadly, will be pondering life in the Shield.


Ikeys 91 (33) – Tries: Josh Miller (2), Luke Burger (4), Keagan Blanckenberg (2), Mika Schubert (2), Ntokozo Makhaza, Tian Vorster, Alex Vermeulen. Conversions: Makhaza (5), Vermeulen (3).

UWC 9 (0) – Try: Hlomla Ncana. Conversion: Aaron Swartz.

FNB Player That Rocks: Luke Burger (FNB UCT)

FNB UCT: Mhleli Khuzwayo, Keagan Blanckenberg, Jovan Bekker, Reynhardt Crous, Mika Schubert, Siphumezo Dyonase, Taariq Kruger, Wandile Mlaba, Josh Miller, Alex Vermeulen, Ntokozo Makhaza, Jonathan Roche, Josh Boulle, Luke Burger, Duran Koevort.

FNB UWC: Hlonela Qelile, Ruben Swanepoel, Franco Ceasar, Alexander-Jaco van der Merwe, Carel van der Merwe, Almore Kuilders, Melumzi Mandongana, Zinzan Magerman, Wian van der Sandt, Aaron Swartz, Hlomla Ncana, Bryan Breda, Denver Van Wyk, Bevan Simons, Jean van Schalkwyk.

A few snaps from the game:

Photos by Nasief Manie of ASEM Engage/Varsity Cup