Ikeys end half with a bang

The UCT Ikey Tigers smashed Southern Suburbs rivals Villagers RFC on Saturday by 57:20 scoring some excellent tries and climbing to the second spot in the WP log.

For the students Don Armand and JJ Gagiano were the pick of the forwards, while young Nick Holton impressed at flyhalf.

The Varsity Cup champions recovered from a slow start – which saw Villager’s take the lead – to register a rampant eight-tries-to-two victory.

Varsity Cup top try scorer Therlow Pietersen, playing at centre, scored two tries – as did debutant winger Richard Stuard – with USA Eagles Test player JJ Gagiano grabbing a try double in a devastating 20-minute cameo. Gagiano has today joined up with his US Eagles team mates to compete in the Churchill Cup in the coming weeks.

UCT led 19-6 at half-time, their 36-point second-half effort blowing Villager’s away in the end.

“You can’t play double skip passes against a student team” one of the Villagers supporters said after the match – alluding to an intercept try  added further punishment to the team in white. To their credit, however, the visitors never gave up and they picked up two tries in the second half.

Winger Paul Cohen, who scored a try, also added four convesions and one penalty whilst Varsity Cup-winning captain Nick Fenton-Wells once again produced an all-action performance for the home side.

The UCT Eagles contested a scrappy match against their old foes Villagers Seconds and emerged narrow 9:8 victors.

The students now have a two months break and will kick off the second half on July 31st against SK Walmers.

FNB UCT Ikey Tigers scorers:
Pietersen 2, Cohen, Penalty Try, Stuard 2, Gagiano 2
Cons: Cohen 4, Holton 2
Pen: Cohen

The FNB UCT team: 15 Rick Rijs, 14 Paul Cohen, 13 Therlow Pietersen, 12 André Coetzer, 11 Richard Stuard, 10 Nick Holton, 9 Nick Farrar, 8 Greg Mallett, 7 Nick Fenton-Wells (captain), 6 Michael Morris, 5 Don Armand, 4 Bradley Bosman, 3 Pete Olivier, 2 Neil Rautenbach, 1 Wesley Chetty.
Replacements: 16 Dayne Jans, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Kyle Kriel, 19 JJ Gagiano, 20 Sharief Hendricks, 21 Dave Edgar, 22 Dave Russell.

The WP Super League log:
(As at Sunday, May 29 – played, won, points)
1. Maties 9, 7, 33
2. UCT 9, 6, 29
3. Vics 9, 5, 27
4. SK Walmers 8, 5, 24
5. Hamilton’s 5, 3, 16
6. False Bay 7, 3, 14
7. Durb-Bell 6, 2, 14
8. Villager’s 6, 3, 13
9. Belhar 6, 2, 10
10. Helderberg 7, 0, 4

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *