Ikeys do the double over Stellenbosch

The Ikeys beat the Stellenbosch University Victorians team in a game that was tied until the 80th minute by 24:17. This what was the seventh match in 27 days.

Ikey Tigers vs Vics is always a great contest of similar playing styles. The Tigers played with the same pack that fronted up to the Maties on Saturday and this continuity was part of the foundation of the success against Vics. 

Scrumhalf Christopher Cook from Gary Gold's Bath team in the UK got his first start for the Tigers who also booked some last minute changes with talismanic flyhalf Dilyn Leyds called up to Western Province. Andrew Norton showed his versatility and slotted in at flyhalf with David Ambunya (pictured) taking over at center. 

UCT did well to shake off their post Intervarsity cobwebs and got on the board first with a penalty after 12 minutes. But Vics struck back with two tries in quick succession around the 30 minute mark to make it 3:12.

Then it was up to Tiger Bax to show his class and score just before the half. Ross Jones Davies provided the extra to bring the score to a 10:12. 

Vics were adamant to be the team to take points from UCT for their varsity this week and scored again early in the second half to make it 10:17. It was Tiger Bax again who got over the whitewash and level the scores with a Jones Davies conversion added – 17:17 with 20 minutes to go. 

The game was as even as the scoreline suggests, but replacement back Kyle Lombard had a last say and scored with the last movement of the game to clinch an important 24:17 victory. 

The UCT Eagles carry on with their impressive unbeaten form with a phenomenal 43:7 victory, scoring 6 tries in the process. UCT 3rds lost 3:13 and the U20 Trojans would be disappointed with another narrow defeat 19:25 – three tries per team. 

The UCT teams now have a bye and a well deserved 11 day break before they take on SK Walmers on the Green Point Track. 


Tries: Tiger Bax 2, Kyle Lombard 1
Kicks: Jones Davies 3cons, 2 pens

Ikey Tigers team vs Maties

1.Wes Chetty 2. Derek Asbun, 3. Digby Webb, 4. James Kilroe, 5. Shaun Macdonald, 6. Jason Klaasen 7. Kyle Kriel 8. Michael Botha 9. Christopher Cook 10. Andrew Norton 11. Lihleli Xoli 12. Tiger Bax  13. David Abunya, 14.Richard Steward 15. Ross Jones Davies 

Reserves: 16. Blake Pengelly 17. Deacon Chowles 18. Jade Kriel, 19. Matthew Faught 20 Dylan Frylink 21. Dylan Sage 22. Kyle Lombart

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply