Ikeys change for Tuks

Coach Kevin Foote has made a number of changes to the  FNB Ikey's starting XV when they take on FNB UP-Tuks on Monday in Pretoria

The Ikeys, renowned for their running rugby, showed glimpses of it against a physical NMMU. The conditions on the Green Mile certainly did not suit the preferred style of play and UCT will be hoping that they can have some favourable conditions in Pretoria so they can give the ball some air and show that they have made positive moves forward since last season. 

UCT traditionally travel well to the highveld and the return of fullback Dillyn Leyds will add a calming influence at the back and offer them some deft touches on attack.

The Ikeys tight forwards dominated the set piece on Monday night and secured most of their possession. However both hookers from Monday's clash are injured and Kevin Foote had to make some  changes amongst the tight five for their game against Tuks. The physical lock combination of Odendaal and Kilroe is back in action, with skipper Odendaal in particular impressing in the lineouts on Monday – a facet of play that will be tightly contested at Tuks.

The Tigers will be pleased with the return of former captain Ntsolo Setlaba from injury as he adds another dimension to the loose trio. The flanker will be looking to impress this season without the added pressures of the captaincy.

Big inside-centre David Ambunya has shifted to the bench to make space for the versatile Nick Holton in the starting line-up.

The match will be televised on SS1.

FNB UCT: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Richard Stewart, 13 Liam Bax, 12 Nicholas Holton, 11 Lihleli Xoli, 10 Ross Jones-Davies, 9 Liam Slatem, 8 Josh Katzen, 7 Ntsolo Setlaba, 6 Kyle Kriel, 5 Jacobus Odendaal (captain), 4 James Kilroe, 3 Shane Meier, 2 Michael Willemse, 1 Sti Sithole.    
Replacements: 16 Derek Asbun, 17 Digby Webb, 18 Bradley Bosman, 19 Jason Klaasens, 20 Rick Schroeder, 21 David Ambunya, 22 Paul Cohen, 23 Oliver Kebble.

Date: Monday, February 11
Venue: Tuks Rugby Stadium, Pretoria
Kick-off: 4.45pm
Referee: Tiaan Jonker