Ikey Tigers team for Shimlas

UCT have announced their team for Monday’s 2011 Varsity Cup opener against FNB Shimlas – a side containing some regulars, but also sporting plenty new faces.


Last season’s captain Nick Fenton-Wells will lead the Ikeys into battle at 5pm as they go in search of some first-ever Varsity Cup silverware after losing to the Maties in the 2008 and 2010 finals.

Familiar faces in the UCT XV are backs Therlow Pietersen, Pete Haw, Marcel Brache, Paul Cohen and Nic Groom, whilst forwards Greg Mallett, Don Armand, Levi Odendaal, Shane Meier, Matt Page and Wes Chetty have all had a taste of Varsity Cup action at some point.

The new faces are former False Bay flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis, vice-captain and inside centre Adrian Kritzinger and lock Eben Etzebeth.

The bench has more newbies in the shape of props Francois van Wyk and Niel Naude, as well as loose forward Nizaam Carr, scrumhalf Nicholas Farrar and speedster Sabelo Siyakatshana, but Dayne Jans, Michael Morris and Tiger Bax are all well-known players at this level.

Jans and Bax, in particular, make welcome returns after missing most (Jans) and all (Bax) of last year’s Varsity Cup campaign due to serious injuries.

Looking ahead to Monday’s opening clash, skipper Fenton-Wells said: “It’s been a great build-up over the past few weeks and months – we’re just chomping at the bit to get out of there and play!”

This will be UCT’s first meeting with Shimlas in Bloemfontein in the history of the Varsity Cup.

The Ikey Tigers team:
15 Therlow Pietersen, 14 Pete Haw, 13 Marcel Brache, 12 Adrian Kritzinger, 11 Paul Cohen, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Greg Mallett, 7 Nick Fenton-Wells (captain), 6 Don Armand, 5 Levi Odendaal, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Shane Meier, 2 Matt Page,1 Wes Chetty.
Replacements: 16 Dayne Jans, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Nizaam Carr, 19 Michael Morris, 20 Nicholas Farrar, 21 Tiger Bax, 22 Sabelo Siyakatshana, 23 Niel Naude.

Head coach: Kevin Foote

Date: Monday, February 7
Venue: Xerox Shimla Park, Bloemfontein
Kick-off: 5pm (Live on SuperSport One)
Referee: Tiaan Jonker
TMO: Shaun Veldsman

1 reply

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply