Ikey Tigers stick with starters for Intervarsity clash

Hunting tackles, UCT hardmen JJ Gagiano and Jody Burch (photo Peter van As)
UCT coaches John Dobson and Kevin Foote have stuck with the starting side that played so well against Hamiltons last weekend and only made some high profile changes on the bench for Saturdays massive Intervarsity, introducing Nick Koster, who is set to make his Ikeys debut.

The prestigeous Intervarsity – which has been played since 1911 – epitomises the friendly rivalry between UCT and Stellenbosch but this year there is more than a trophy at stake. The winner of the clash, which will feature a host of Provincial players in either team is in a good position to top the league log end of the half, which of course equals a ticket to the SA club championships.

8th man Nick Koster who has played some excellent rugby for Province in last year’s S14 and Currie Cup before sitting out due to injury last featured in WP Vodacom Cup quarter final against the Bulls, alongside Hanyani Shimange, Tiger Bax, Martin Muller, Jody Burch, Yaya Hartzenberg and Ahsley Wells. All of them will be in the mix for a potent Ikey Tigers team.

Dylan Rogers another UCT stalwart who has been contracted to the Griquas this season is also returning to the squad and will move onto the bench for extra front row cover.

All is set for an awesome day of rugby on UCT’s Green Mile.

The UCT’s Eagles team captained by Andre Coetzer are also up for a huge match, they are unbeaten this season and are looking to make it six from six.

Same applies to Gunner Hughes U20 A1s who are playing for the newly resurrected Hedley Atkins trophy and the 2009 champions will do everything to continue their unbeaten 2010 run.

Intervarsity2010 T-SHIRTS are on Sale 10-17.00 at the UCT rugby pub and! 2.30 – 14.00 on JAMMIE PLAZA for R79 – also tomorrow at the game.

UCT Ikey Tigers: 15 Tiger Bax, 14 Marcel Brache, 13 Mark Estherhuizen, 12 Sean van Tonder, 11 Marcello Sampson, 10 Matt Rosslee (vice-captain), 9 Nic Groom, 8 JJ Gaiango, 7 Jody Burch, 6 Nick Fenton-Wells (captain), 5 Bodo Sieber, 4 Martin Muller, 3 Grant Kemp, 2 Hanyani Shimange, 1 Ashley Wells.
Replacements: 16 Mark Goosen, 17 Chris Heiberg, 18 Don Armand, 19 Yaya Hartzenberg, 20 Nick Koster, 21 Sharief Hendricks, 21 Pete Haw, 22 Paul Cohen, 23 Dylan Rogers

16:00 FNB UCT 1st XV “Ikey Tigers” Maties 1 Groote Schuur  A
14:45 FNB UCT EAGLES XV Maties 2 Groote Schuur  A      –
13:35 FNB UCT ISH DRAMAT XV Maties 3 Groote Schuur  A         

tbc FNB UCT U20 A1 Maties U20 Groote Schuur B      

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *