Ikey Tigers impress against Belhar

Ikey Tigers forward Don Armand scored a brace of tries as the 2011 Varsity Cup champions claimed a whopping 40-10 win over WP Super League newcomers, Belhar, at Groote Schuur on Saturday.



Armand, a member of the Varsity Cup-winning team last month, scored two of the Ikeys’ six tries on the day – the other five-pointers going to Zandy Macdonald, Pete Haw, Greg Mallett and Mark Winter.

Flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis, back in the UCT side after his Western Province debut last weekend in the Vodacom Cup, slotted five conversions for the students.

UCT led by 14-10 at half-time, as they played into the wind in the first half, but things opened up nicely in the second stanza with the wind at their backs.

The FNB UCT team: 15 Paul Cohen, 14 Mark Winter, 13 Nick Holton, 12 André Coetzer, 11 Pete Haw, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nick Farrar, 8 JJ Gagiano, 7 Nick Fenton-Wells (captain), 6 Zandy Macdonald, 5 Don Armand, 4 Brad Bosman, 3 Pete Olivier, 2 Neil Rautenbach, 1 Wes Chetty.
Replacements: 16 Matthew Page, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Kyle Kriel, 19 Greg Mallett, 20 Sharief Hendricks, 21 Ross Jones-Davies, 22 Sabelo Siyakatshana.