Ikey Tigers do the league double over Maties

UCT beat their favourite rivals Maties by 22:15 on the Green Mile on Saturday in what has been dubbed a historic double following their Intervarsity win at Stellenbosch earlier in the season.

The home side scored and converted very late to pull away in this epic battle, after the Maties in almost traditional fashion got on the board early and lead 10:3.

UCT came out of the starting blocks a bit too slowly and struggled to get into the game – Maties were up 10:3 at the half. Then UCT scored through young second rower Brad Bosman, but Maties go their second try to edge away 15:8. 

This is what the score was with 15 minutes to go and with time running out, the Cape Town students threw everything into a late rally and were rewarded with a try by Greg Mallet which Nick Holton converted to pull even at 15:15.

The Lady Luck smiled on UCT as winger Richard Stewart was the last seconf hero when he pounced on a loose ball which the visitors replacement loose forward Chase Minnaar was trying to guide over his goalline.

This is a rare league double over the mighty Stellenbosch – which UCT rugby historians believe to have traced back into the 70s.

This was the first of a series of high profile games – with Villagers waiting at Brookside and then Hamiltons and False Bay due to travel to the Mile in back to back matches. This crucial win has given great momentum to the young UCT side’s second half.

Black Tie dinner 26th of August – get your tickets now



For  UCT:
Bosman, G Mallett, Stewart
Cons: Holton 2
Pen: Holton

For  Maties:
Herbst 2
Con: Buys
Pen: Buys

UCT: 15 Therlow Pietersen, 14 Ricky Rijs, 13 Tiger Bax, 12 André Coetzer, 11 Richard Stewart, 10 Nick Holton, 9 Nick Farrar, 8 Greg Mallett, 7 Nick Fenton-Wells (captain), 6 Don Armand, 5 Brad Bosman, 4 Pallo Manuel, 3 Pete Olivier, 2 Neil Rautenbach, 1 Wes Chetty.
Replacements: 16 Tim Louw, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Shane Meier, 19 James Kilroe, 20 Zandy Macdonald, 21 Steve Wallace, 22 Mark Winter.

Maties: 15 Jarryd Buys, 14 Clarence Khumalo, 13 Mark Hodgskiss, 12 Wessel Coetzee, 11 Eben Barnard, 10 JH Potgieter, 9 Johan Herbst, 8 Bennie Booysen, 7 Tertius Daniller, 6 Sam Mabombo, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Bertho van der Westhuizen (captain), 3 Os Hamman, 2 Gareth Light, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Rob Herring, 17 Gerrit Jacobs, 18 Stephan Greeff, 19 Buhle Mxunyelwa, 20 Gideon Strydom, 21 Chase Minnaar, 22 David Strachan.



Other results:

Villagers 14 Durbanville 18,

Victorians 24 Hamiltons 31

False Bay 31 Helderberg 12