Ikey Tigers change for league kick off

Back in the mix – Luzuko Panya – left. (photo Peter van As)
The UCT Ikey Tigers will kick off their 2010 league campaign at Helderberg’s CT Morkel Stadium tomorrow. Helderberg have recently beaten False Bay in a friendly and the Bay famously toppled champions Hamiltons last week, so UCT are facing a tough challenge.

Coach John Dobson who is staying at the reigns in the absence of Kevin Foote who is touring Italy with Bishops has made a number of changes to the side and recalled a couple of his veterans for the Helderberg clash.

In the absence of the injured Nick Fenton Wells, the side will be captained by 2009 league skipper Bodo Sieber who comes in at lock. The other stalwart to return to the styarting team is Luzuko Panya who will scrum down on the flank.

JJ Gagiano who played an outstanding Varsity Cup is getting himself ready for international commitments with the US Eagles, so will sit out the beginning stages of the league – Sam Peter is taking over at 8th man. Matt Rosslee, Sean van Tonder and Pete Haw are unavailable so the squad has been rotated a bit.

Young Paul Cohen comes into the team at wing and Zandy MacDonald starts at openside flank after impressing last week against Victorians. Both got a first taste of Varsity Cup rugby this year.

Hard running Mark Esterhuisen lines up at outside center next to Marcel Brache and hooker Matt Paige gets a well deserved start.

The new faces on the bench are paceman Zubayr Abrhahams who got some Varsity Cup game time recently, as well as experienced center Andre Coetzer who also played an excellent game against Vics last week.

Ikey Tigers team vs Helderberg

15. Therlow Pietersen, 14. Marcello Sampson, 13. Mark Esterhuisen, 12. Marcel Brache, 11. Paul Cohen, 10 Douglas Mallet, 9. Stu Commins (9), 8. Sam Peter, 7. Luzuko Panya, 6. Zandy MacDonald, 5. Bodo Sieber (c), 4. Don Armand, 3. Grant Kemp, 2. Matt Paige, 1. Ash Wells

16. Mark Goosen, 17. Wes Chetty, 18. Levi Odendaal, 19. Andre Goosen, 20. Nic Groom, 21. Zubayr Abrahams, 22. Andre Coetzer