green mile

Host of Ikeys get WP Vodacom start

DHL Western Province and former FNB Ikeys coach John Dobson has selected a host of UCT players in a very young starting team to face Boland in the season opener. 

Ikeys Hooker Michael Willemse will lead DHL Western Province into battle on Saturday (kick-off 16h30) – one of seven players boasting some Vodacom Super Rugby experience.
“It’s an exciting team, probably the youngest we have fielded at this level with five players who were Under-19 last year,” Dobson told when explaining his selection.

The UCT players in the team incude: 
England 7s winger Mat Turner, center Kyle Lombard, Kenyan wing Willy Ambaka, backrow forward Sikhumbuzo Notshe as well as front rankers Michael Willemse (captain) and Sti Sithole. Reserve hooker Neil Rautenbach and 8th man Rayn Smid complete the host of Ikeys in the mix. 

WP vs Boland Saturday 16.30 in Caledon 

15. EW Viljoen
14. Willy Ambaka
13. Pat Howard (vice-captain)
12. Kyle Lombard
11. Mat Turner
10. Ryno Eksteen
9. Godlen Masimla
8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
7. Jurie van Vuuren
6. Jacques Vermeulen
5. Chris van Zyl
4. David Ribbans
3. Wilco Louw
2. Michael Willemse (captain)
1. Sti Sithole
16. Neil Rautenbach
17. Frans van Wyk
18. Luke van der Smit
19. Rayn Smid
20. SP Ferreira
21. Jean-Luc du Plessis
22. Tshotsho Mbovane
1 reply

Comments are closed.