Home Game Victory for the Ikey Tigers

Last night the Ikey Tigers bagged their first home-game win of the season, beating the Shimlas 25-5 in Round Six of the 2014 Varsity Cup.

With the win, the Tigers move into 2nd place on the log, behind NWU-Pukke, moving that much closer to their first appearance in the semi-finals since 2011.

UCT had an industrious first half, putting away 18 points to nothing in the first quarter. The first try came within the first 5 minutes when a line-out steal lead to the ball being passed out right to winger Richard Stewart, who then dotted the ball down in the corner. Another steal, this time at the breakdown area, saw UCT’s Jason Klaasen dive over the white. While flyhalf Dean Grant failed to convert the two opening tries, the side were content with their 10-0 lead.

Some powerful work by the Tigers scrum then saw lock Shaun McDonald force his way through Shimla’s line of defence, and crash over just before the 20-minute mark. Grant managed the conversion this time, and the scoreboard read 18-0, where it would remain until half time.

After the break, Shimlas came out firing all cylinders, looking to threaten UCT’s lead. However, the hosts maintained their composure and waited for another opportunity to present itself. This came in the form of a turnover at the breakdown which allowed Lihleli Xoli to get his hands on the ball, charge down the field and pass it off to fullback Ross Jones-Davies who slid in at the left-hand corner for the vital bonus point try. Grants conversion struck the left post, and left the score at 23-0. The flyhalf soon redeemed himself, however, when he nailed a penalty goal with only 10 minutes to go.

Shimlas managed to secure a late try through hooker Jacques du Toit after a lengthy fight for the line in the final minutes of the game, but it was no matter as UCT closed out the game 25-5.

Ikey Tiger’s Shaun McDonald was awarded the FNB Player that Rocks award amidst cheers from his team mates, and the side move forward into their next encounter against Wits in Round Seven. 


The scorers:


Tries: Stewart, Klaasen, McDonald, Jones-Davies

Pen: Grant
Con: Grant

For FNB UFS-Shimlas:

Try: J du Toit


The teams:

FNB UCT: 15 Ross Jones-Davies, 14 Richard Stewart, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Guy Shwikard, 11 Lihleli Xoli, 10 Dean Grant, 9 Liam Slatem (captain), 8 Michael Botha, 7 Vince Jobo, 6 Jason Klaasen, 5 James Kilroe, 4 Shaun McDonald, 3 Digby Webb, 2 Neil Rautenbach, 1 Joel Carew.

Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Robin Murray, 18 Guy Alexander, 19 Kyle Kriel, 20 James Alexander, 21 Martin Sauls, 22 Nathan Nel, 23 David Maasch.


FNB UFS-Shimlas: 15 Gouws Prinsloo, 14 Maphuta Dolo, 13 Tertius Kruger, 12 Joubert Engelbrecht (captain), 11 Divandre Strydom, 10 Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 9 Kevin Luiters, 8 Gerhard Olivier, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Tienie Burger, 5 Neil Claassen, 4 Armandt Koster, 3 Justin Pappin, 2 Jacques du Toit, 1 Franco van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Markus Odendaal, 17 Luan de Bruin, 18 Johan van der Hoogt, 19 Neill Jordaan, 20 Kay-Kay Hlongwane, 21 Francois du Toit, 22 Sethu Tom, 23 Gideon Bruwer.



20 replies

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. bears.com official website gay chat room https://gaytgpost.com/

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply