FNB UCT Travel to Danie Craven to Take On FNB Maties

Andile Majola

In round six of the FNB Varsity Cup, the Ikey Tigers go head to head against their arch-rivals, FNB Maties, in the final Cape derby of the season.

The Maties faithful will be in full voice on Monday night as they aim to fill the Danie Craven to host their old foe FNB UCT.

The Ikey Tigers will know that they will be walking into the lion’s den but they can do so with pride as they walk into the match unbeaten thus far in the competition.

The FNB UCT forward pack have been immense this season, doing particularly well to retain possession and provide their backline with front-foot ball.

The Maroon Machine have looked almost unstoppable this season on their pursuit of back-to-back Varsity Cup titles.

With the likes of Anton du Toit and Munier Hartzenberg among others in their backline, FNB Maties will most certainly pose a threat out wide to their opponents

Although previous results don’t often count for much in these sort of fixtures, the Ikey Tigers will have a real point to prove after last year’s 5-66 defeat on the Green Mile.

FNB UCT have improved vastly since that fateful night on the Green Mile last year, making this a very serious litmus test for their title hopes this season.

These two sides share a great history and a great rivalry that runs deep within the fans, coaches and players alike.

It’s that passion that makes this match a definite one to watch, wherever you may be on Monday night. Tickets to the Danie Craven are available for purchase on Webtickets.

For those who can’t make it to the stadium the match will also be televised on Supersport 1. Kick-off is at 7pm, you don’t want to miss this.


FNB UCT – 15 Athi Gazi, 14 Godfrey Ramaboea, 13 Liam Furniss, 12 Michael Brink, 11 Rayno Mapoe, 10 James Tedder, 9 Kyle Bowman, 8 Busanda Mabena, 7 Byron Cranswick, 6 Liam Greenhalgh, 5 David Meihuizen, 4 Gary Porter, 3 Robert Hunt, 2 Cuan Hablutzel, 1 Ashwyn Adams.

Replacements: 16 Devon Arendse, 17 Gugu Nelani, 18 Luthando Woji, 19 Byron Bowes, 20 Neil Otto, 21 Liam Kloosman, 22 Gerard Pieterse, 23 Sebastian Roodt.