FNB UCT & FNB Wits Share The Spoils To Remain Unbeaten

Andile Majola

The Ikey Tigers survived a late onslaught by FNB Wits to share the spoils as both sides remain undefeated in the competition.

In round 5 of the FNB Varsity Cup FNB UCT returned to the Green Mile to host their northern rivals FNB Wits.

With both sides coming into the match undefeated thus far in the competition, the match started off as a cagey affair.

FNB Wits, playing against the wind, did incredibly well to hold onto possession as they forced FNB UCT onto the defensive.

Eventually the home side conceded a penalty in a kickable area and Kurt Webster made no mistake slotting the kick, putting FNB Wits on the scoreboard.

The home side responded through a fantastic try by fullback Athi Gazi, as he beat two defenders on his way over the whitewash to score the Ikey Tigers’ first points of the match. James Tedder added the extras and FNB UCT went into the break with the scores at 7-3.

In the second half it was the home side who dominated both territory and possession in the early stages. James Tedder kicked over a penalty in the 53rd minute to extend the Ikey Tigers’ lead to 10-3.

FNB Wits continued to push for a try of their own as they were met by a defiant FNB UCT defence. Lock Emmanuel Tshituka eventually broke through, late in the game, to set up a thrilling finale.

Aidynn Cupido broke the line late on in what looked to be a game changing moment with just seconds left on the clock, but the home side were able to shut down the attack as they earned their second draw of the competition.

The result leaves the Ikey Tigers in third position log, tied with arch rivals FNB Maties ahead of their massive clash in round six.

FNB Player That Rocks: David Meihuizen (FNB UCT)
Steers Kinging Moment: Athi Gazi (FNB UCT)

FNB UCT: 10 (7)
Athi Gazi
Conversions: James Tedder (1)
Penalties: James Tedder (1)

FNB Wits: 10 (3)
Emmanuel Tshituka
Conversions: Kurt Webster (1)
Penalties: Kurt Webster (1)


FNB UCT: 15 Athi Gazi, 14 Gerard Pieterse, 13 Liam Furniss, 12 Michael Brink , 11 Rayno Mapoe, 10 James Tedder, 9 Kyle Bowman, 8 Liam Greenhalgh (Captain), 7 Busanda Mabena, 6 Nama Xaba, 5 David Meihuizen, 4 Gary Porter, 3 Luthando Woji 2 Cuan Hablutzel, 1 Ashwyn Adams.

Replacements: 16 Josh van Vuuren, 17 Devon Arendse, 18 Gugu Nelanii, 19 Byron Bowes, 20 Byron Cranswick, 21 Liam Kloosman, 22 Godfrey Ramaboea , 23 Sebastian Roodt

FNB Wits: 15 Daniel Kasenda, 14 Kwanele Nguma, 13 Yanga Hlalu, 12 Aidynn Cupido, 11 Lwazi Monakali, 10 Kurt Webster, 9 Zinzan Pedro, 8 Louis Gordon, 7 Cal Smid, 6 Constant Beckerling, 5 Emmanuel Tshituka, 4 Kevin du Randt, 3 Keagan Glade, 2 Carl Brandon, 1 Hayden Cloete

Replacements: 16 Mulalo Sadiki, 17 Ebot Buma, 18 JC Greef, 19 Dewar Thomson, 20 Ziyanda Msipha, 21 Hlumelo Ndudla, 22 Chris Humphries, 23 Grey Champion