Ikeys ready to take on the league leaders

While an improved run of form in recent weeks has seen them pick up their fourth win from six games, the FNB Ikey Tigers face a stern test on Saturday afternoon when they take on league leaders Hamiltons. Hamiltons remain undefeated after seven matches played, but the men who call the Green Mile home are up to the task.

“Travelling to Hamiltons is always tough, so we know what we’re up against. In the past, UCT has been somewhat of a bogey team for Hamiltons, so we’re hoping that the trend continues again this Saturday,” said Christiaan Esterhuizen.

“We’ve prepared quite well despite all our injuries, and we’re going into this game with quite a bit of momentum behind us,” added Esterhuizen. This momentum has come as a result of three consecutive wins following the team’s derby loss to Maties, and there’s no doubt that a win against the team currently leading the pack would set the team up for an interesting remainder of the season.

“In general, we try not to worry about how the other teams are doing and instead just focus on ourselves. For now, we’re going to try our best to get into the top four. We’re confident we can do that if we win our next five matches,” explained Esterhuizen. The next five games for the FNB Ikey Tigers are Hamiltons, Pniel Villagers, Tygerberg, Brackenfell and Durbell. These opponents are a balanced mix of teams currently in the top four and teams lower down on the log, presenting them with the opportunity to gain some valuable points while slowing down those closest to them on the log.

The match is set to kick off at 16:00 at Groote Schuur A on Saturday, the 3rd of June. The FNB Ikey Tigers team set to clash with Hamiltons:

1 William Day, 2 Brenton Greaves, 3 Warying Losper, 4 Brad Bosman, 5 David Meihuizen, 6 Sanele Malwane, 7 Alva Sendreyani, 8 Jack Walters, 9 Dylan Tydbury, 10 Lohan Lubbe, 11 Ibie Adams, 12 Robbie Ball, 13 Liam Furniss, 14 Damian Rawstone, 15 Joel Smith.


16 Msizi Zondi, 17 Martin Chandler, 18 Busanda Mabena, 19 Joel Paarwater, 20 Stef de Gouveia, 21 Hilio de Abreu, 22 Charlie Chapman.