Dominant Ikeys win with style

It started out as a fairly grizzly encounter at a cold and wet Green Mile in Cape Town, but ended in a convincing 46-19 win for the Ikeys over Wits.

The home side set the tone early in the game, showing some serious intent with ball in hand. Centre Tom Nel scored from a turnover, and Ntokozo Makhaza, like he has all season, successfully converted.

The men from Jozi responded with a seven-point try via full-back Setshaba Mokoena, but that would be their last of the half. Unlike the home side … Tries by Sipho Dyonase, Makhaza and Duran Koevort gave the Ikeys a convincing 34-7 halftime lead, effectively putting the game to bed.

Not that Wits had accepted their fate, though. The second half started on a high for the visitors, with Azakhiwe Afrika getting over the whitewash. UCT punched back immediately with a try by flank/lock Enos Ndiao, whose all-round play earned him the Player That Rocks award.

Wits showed intent of their own as Mark Synman added to the scoresheet, with Gerswin Mouton slotting the conversion.

Tom Dawson-Squibb’s charges were not done for the evening, as substitute Rihaz “Razzle-Dazzle” Fredericks got his name on the score sheet via a try that sealed a well-deserved victory for the men in blue and white hoops.


IKEYS 46 (34) – Tries: Tom Nell, Sipho Dyonase, Ntokozo Makhaza, Duran Koevort, Enos Ndiao, Rihaz Fredericks. Conversions: Makhaza (5)

WITS 19 (7) – Tries: Setshaba Mokoena, Azakhiwe Afrika, Mark Snyman. Conversion: Gerswin Mouton

FNB Player That Rocks: Enos Ndiao

Ikeys: 15 Koevort Duran, 14 Davis Lezane, 13 Nel Thomas, 12 Lamb Kyle, 11 Makhaza Ntokozo, 10 Hayes David, 9 Ndudula Hlumelo, 8 MacLeod Smith Jason, 7 Ndiao Enos, 6 Dyonase Sipho, 5 van Rhyn Johan, 4 Crous Reynhardt, 3 Le Roux Bryan, 2 Blanckenberg Keagan, 1 Woji Luthando.

Wits: 15 Mokoena Setshaba, 14 Lwandile Mapuko, 13 Mouton Gerswin, 12 Cloete Jason Lee, 11 Azi Afrika, 10 Mokhethi Kabelo, 9 Aucamp Wernich 8 Ziyanda Msipha, 7 Lindokuhle Ncusane, 6 Mark Snyman, 5 Smid Cal, 4 Gouws Hendrik Theunis, 3 John-Kelly Okonkwo, 2 Venter Dameon, 1 Banele Mthenjane.