Brown to captain SA in India

Former Ikey Tigers ace Kyle Brown will captain the Springbok Sevens squad at the Commonwealth Games in India in October.

Springbok Sevens coach Paul Treu recently met with representatives from Sascoc to finalise the team that will travel to Delhi for the Sevens competition, which takes place on October 11 and 12.

Seven experienced SARU contracted players were named in the final squad of twelve, with Kyle – who has captained the SA Sevens team before – part of the experienced core of players in the Paul Treu-coached squad.

Four players will also be making their Sevens debut for South Africa.

The new players in the squad are In-Site’s Bernardo Botha, Free State loose forward Boom Prinsloo – who shone for the Shimlas in this year’s FNB Varsity Cup – and Lubabalo Mtembu and Sibusiso Sithole (both of whom hail from the Sharks).

Kyle told “This is a huge honour for me and I will do my utmost to lead the squad to glory in India.

“We’ve got a talented bunch of players in this group… I’m very lucky to be captain, but – at the same – I am lucky to have plenty of experienced players to lean on when the going gets tough.”

South Africa, bronze medalists in 2002, will head up Pool B in India.

Current IRB Rugby World Cup Sevens champions Wales, a resurgent Tonga team and the host nation, India, have been included in this tough group.

The Springbok Sevens squad (for the Commonwealth Games): Boom Prinsloo (Free State), Chris Dry (SARU contracted), Kyle Brown (SARU contracted – captain), Chase Minnaar (SARU contracted), Lubabalo Mtembu (Sharks), Cecil Africa (SARU contracted), Renfred Dazel (SARU contracted), Branco du Preez (Blue Bulls), Ryno Benjamin (SARU contracted), Sibusiso Sithole (Sharks), Bernardo Botha (Golden Lions), MJ Mentz (SARU contracted).