Announcing the Ikey Tigers Japan Touring Squad

In just over a month, Ikey Tigers will be travelling to Japan to defend their World University Rugby Cup title, with the full intention of bringing the trophy back to South Africa for another four years.

Players have been putting their bodies on the line over the last few weeks to try and secure a spot on the touring squad, racking up a number of impressive results to claim both the Tiger Cup and Mark Jordaan Trophy.

Players have also been brilliant in supporting the Clubs fundraising efforts leading up to the tour, as the Club tries to secure the required amount to get the final squad to Japan (see fundraising initiatives here).

After a gruelling selection process, UCT RFC is proud to announce the Ikey Tigers Japan Touring Squad 2019:

Ashwyn Adams Darian Hock
Cuan Hablutzel Devon Arendse
Michael Kumbirai Josh van Vuuren
Duncan Saffy Simon Raw
Gary Porter David Meihuizen
Nama Xaba Neil Otto
Josh Moon Liam Greenhalgh
Nyasha Tarusenga Busanda Mabena
Kyle Bowman William Rose
James Tedder Michael Brink
Gerard Pieterse Ross Goodwin
Robbie Ball James Mac
Liam Furniss Damian Rawsthorner
Rhyno Mapoe Athi Gazi

We wish the team the best of luck in Japan and look forward to hosting our supporters who are joining the tour as part of our Supporters Package (contact for more details)


In order to make a tour like this possible the players and management have put in a place an ambitious fundraising plan to raise the almost R1m required (approximately R28k pp for each of the 35 travelling players and management).

Show your support by purchasing a raffle ticket, or making a donation on our Quicket page. to help one of our remarkable students benefit from a trip that builds lifelong friendships and shape their view of the world, themselves and their potential. Plus, stand a chance to win to great prizes!

Purchasing a raffle ticket also guarantees your spot at the Auction night, taking place on Saturday, 17 August at the Jack Black Brewery.